Simon Taylor
Australia
Live in Perth, Australia
Born and bred in Britain
flag msg tools
...into Microbadge ;-)
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I have spent hours playing Runescape. I can't check now because checking your cumulative playing time is, like the vast majority of the game, only for 'members', which I no longer am. But when I did last check I think it was over 300 days. That's 300 x 24 hours = 7200 hours. Or, if I played for a 37-hour working week, that's nearly four years full-time. Gosh. (actually it's a bit less than that because it counts the time it takes to auto-log out after ten minutes, and those add up a bit).

Anyway, point being that I played this enough to know it like the back of my hand. I started playing in 2005, and finished in 2012.

In a game which is constantly changing (they were recently averaging one update a week, anything from new graphics to whole new skills), I've tried to keep the comments below as generic as possible.

Gielinor

Runescape has its own 'world', which is called Gielinor. It contains some towns and villages, mountains, lakes, seas, caves, lots of underground dungeons (so in effect there are two maps - overground and underground), and also some other places which lie outside the main map and are got to via portals etc. But essentially to start with you're a human in a place that works much like earth. Except its inhabited by goblins, dragons, kings and queens, and all the other sorts of things you'd expect in a game set in the days when swords and bows-and-arrows were the height of technology.

It is Massively Multiplayer game, so as you wander around you can interact with other players who are wandering around as well. You can chat to them, so activities together or (in certain areas only) fight them.