Luke Jaconetti
United States
Simpsonville
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
To say that I have been a life long professional wrestling fan is pretty close to accurate, as the first PPV I watched was Wrestlemania 2 when I was 5 years old. So growing up, and even today, wrestling is a part of my life. My brother, my friend Bob (now a retired pro wrestler) and myself discovered ECW in 1995, when it was airing on MSG Network (I think) on our local cable provider in Westchester and Putnam counties in NY. From there on until the doors closed in 2001, we were all dedicated disciples of the hardcore. We frequented live events within our driving range (including multiple shows at the Mid-Hudson Civic Center in Poughkeepsie, Danbury, CT, and the Fright Fight in Stamford, CT on Halloween night in 1997. So as an ECW fan, and a Game Boy enthusiast, when ECW Hardcore Revolution was announced, I was definitely interested in adding it to my collection. But, for one reason or another, I never came across it, so as the GBC moved on, I gave up on ever finding it. And then, by chance, I happened to find it at a used book store for $4, and I couldn't resist. I had to buy it. So, will this game be Hardcore Heaven, or by playing it am I just Living Dangerously?

ECW Hardcore Revolution was released by Acclaim and developed by Crawfish and is a GBC-only cartridge. The presentation is straightforward, with a simple title screen and text menus. The only options you can set are the time limit, difficulty, and toggling the music and sound effects. There are several game modes, which will be familiar to anyone who played earlier Acclaim WWF portable games:

--Challenge - Pick your wrestler, and fight your way through the roster in a gauntlet. You start the next bout with the life you finished the previous one with, so it behooves you to win quickly.

--Career - Climb the rankings and win the ECW World Championship. As you win matches, you can use a password to save your progress.