Savage Streets FAQ
FAQ for Savage Streets
List of game FAQs
1.3 Area Control
A Soviet reinforcement arriving in German area 6 makes it become contested. I.e. in section 1.31, change "However, at the end of combat..." to "However, at the end of reinforcement or combat..."
1.4 Sequence of Play
It seems there should be an Event Resolution Phase (6.0) which happens after German Movement Phase (4.0) and before Combat Phase (7.0). In this way, Sniper, Molotov Cocktails, Ambush and Dummy events are removed from areas with Germans before Combat Phase begins, and in German areas where Combat begins, the only possible events remaining to be resolved and trigger combat are Artillery, Fanatic Strongpoint and Guards Counterattack.
3.0 Place Soviet Event Chits
The Soviet player always draws 3 chits, even if not all can be placed (due to Germans taking over areas). The remaining unplaceable chits are returned to the pile.
6.0 Soviet Event Chits
Suppression (from Sniper, Molotov Cocktails, Ambush) only affects a unit in the battle about to happen, and does not persist after the battle; the suppressed unit simply does not contribute to the battle. Multiple suppressions on a unit have no additional effect.
Suppressed units are still eligible to (but not mandated to) take losses, as they are in the area where the combat takes place; they can take the loss to satisfy the required 1 step loss for the Germans. They can participate in a Breakthrough.
The penalties for being suppressed are:
1) a unit's combat strength is reduced to 0 for that combat.
2) the unit cannot use any special capabilities for that combat.
6.6 Guards Counterattack
Guards Attack revealed with Germans but with no Soviet Combat units still triggers a combat, applying its effect and being worth 0 combat value, and is removed after the combat.
7.0 Combat Phase
In an area with Germans, the events Sniper, Molotov Cocktails, Ambush and Dummy will have already been resolved (in the Event Resolution Phase before Combat Phase). Artillery, Fanatic Strongpoint, and Guards Counterattack will still exist and trigger combat, even without Soviet units.
7.32 German combat losses
Note that the Soviets may lose a variable amount of units (if the Germans win), but the Germans always simply take one hit, regardless whether they win or lose the combat. (Exception: if the only Soviet counters there are Artillery and Fanatic Stronghold, then the Germans suffer a hit only if they lost the combat.)
10.22 Solitaire Soviet Set-Up: Event Chits
Presumably these 3 Event Chits placed in setup imply not placing 3 additional Event Chits during the "Place Soviet Event Chits" phase of turn 1. Especially since the solitaire rules moved a turn's Event Chit placement into the Soviet Reinforcement Phase (10.3).
10.3 Solitaire Soviet Reinforcement Phase
This section augments rather than replacing 2.2; i.e. the Soviet reinforcements are still subject to the restrictions of 2.2, and 10.2 simply specifies the choices made by the Soviet AI player. Thus don't interpret 10.3 literally and e.g. refill areas 7 and 8 to 3 Soviet units each turn even when they are German controlled.
10.3 does not explain how to deal with the red-circle Soviet reinforcements. At CSW, Tom Morin explained:
The red dot Soviet reinforcements use the same algorithm, but when looking at rule 2.2a, Area 6 is added as an additional option for them, same goes for 2.2b (i.e., they can be placed in a contested Area 6 but don't undergo a dr for arriving under fire); and in addition, case c makes Area 6 is an option even if German controlled, but this would be considered landing under fire and require a dr. Area 6 is treated similar to Areas 7 & 8, so as many as possible (up to 3) could be placed there. As for which to place first (black dot vs. red dot), you should use the order that would place the most Soviet units, but generally I would do the black dot reinforcements first, then the red ones.
Thus it seems you should:
- Do the first step of 10.3 (adding a black unit (or red if no blacks remain) to vacant Soviet areas bordering non-Soviet areas)
- Then do the second step of 10.3 (adding to 7 and 8 until they're all full) such that you fill 7 and 8 (alternating in that order) with blacks if possible, then fill 7,8,6 (alternating in that order?) with reds until they're all are full.
- Then continue with the third (add one to each occupied Soviet area), fourth (add one to each contested area), fifth (add one to each vacant Soviet area), in each step adding blacks until they run out, then reds.
10.5 Solitaire German Movement Phase
It seems the intention is that you choose an area, then roll for all Germans in that area to see which ones can move, and then make your movement decisions for those units with that knowledge. (As opposed to rolling for a unit, moving it, then rolling for another unit.)