The Hotness
Games|People|Company
Artifact
Push Me Pull You
Scythe: Digital Edition
Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft
Mystic Vale
City of Heroes
Star Trek: The Next Generation – Birth of the Federation
Minecraft
Defense of the Ancients
Final Fantasy VII Remake
Stellaris
Super NES Classic
Unravel Cyndy
Mass Effect 2
Fallout 3
Castlevania: Symphony of the Night
Scribblenauts
Professor Layton and the Curious Village
Planescape: Torment
Baldur's Gate
Titan Quest
Castlevania: Portrait of Ruin
Speedball 2: Brutal Deluxe
CivCity: Rome
Spelunky
Machinarium
Castlevania: Dracula X
Limbo
SimCity (1989)
Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia
Final Fight
Crusader Kings
Geneforge 2
The Operational Art of War III
Too Human
Pokémon Ruby and Sapphire
Autoduel
DiRT 2
Civilization V
Deus Ex: Human Revolution
realMyst
The King of Dragons
Angry Birds Rio
Avadon: The Black Fortress
Mass Effect 3
Journey (2012)
Arcana Heart 3
Dragon Age: Inquisition
The Last of Us
Endless Space
Search: Titles Only:
Article Edit | History | Editors

Snow Tails FAQ

STARTING

Q: The starting player chooses a free starting position. But is the race started by the starting player, or the player who is in box number 1?
A: The starting player only chooses where to place their piece first. When the actual race is underway, the sleds set off in numerical order.

CARD PLAY

Q: Do all players draw cards simultaneously before the start of the overall turn? or does each player draw individually when it is their turn to go?
A: you draw to 5 cards as the last step of your turn, before the next player starts.

Q: Are brake cards mixed back in with the re-shuffle?
A: If you have to reshuffle, you just leave the top card of the left and right dog. All other cards, including those for the brake, are reshuffled (since the brake is still represented with the brake token).

Q: Specifically when (and how) do the players place cards on their sleds?
A: It's race order. The player in 1st looks at his hand, chooses his cards, puts them on his mat, moves his sled where he wants. Now, the player in 2nd does the same thing. Then the 3rd, then the 4th, etc. Once all players have gone once in that round, start a new round with whoever is in first now (which might be different from last round).

Q: When do I create a discard pile?
A: You create a discard pile when you first play a card to change your brake setting. You do not start with a discard pile.

MOVING & DRIFTING

Q: In the corners there are "squares" that touch along the sides even if one is further forward than the other. Is this a diagonal or sideways square?
A: It is considered a "diagonal" square as long as the front of the square you move to is further ahead than the front of the square you are moving from.

Q: When drifting does it count towards your movement? As in if I move 5 and drift 2, do I move 3 forward and 2 diagonal or can I move 5 forward and then drift 2 towards the direction I need to drift to?
A: Your Speed includes your Drift. So with a Speed of 5 & 2 Drift, that means 5 spaces forward, with 2 of those being diagonal.

Q: Is the only way to drift by playing different dog value cards? or can I choose to drift left or right (say to avoid trees) if the dogs are balanced?
A: You can only change direction by having an unbalanced sled. You cannot voluntarily drift left or right at will.

Q: Does my sled remain on the track until the end of the round after I have totalled it, or is it immediately removed?
A: The sled is removed from play after it crashes. Unless it crosses the finishing line, where it remains until the end of that round.

SPEED LIMITS & CRASHING

Q: We had a situation where a player crossed a speed limit barrier exceeding the speed limit, but he collided with another sled two squares past the barrier. Since the sled started close to the speed limit line he didn’t move forward 4 more squares, despite the original forward movement being over 4. Basically he used another sled to reduce his speed. We ruled this a good move and thus no penalty but wondered if others agreed.
A: It's your speed the instant you cross the line. So at that point, he takes the penalty dent cards. Then he crashes into the other player, taking the second penalty of reduced movement, by not refilling his hand, so he's got hardly any cards for the next turn. This is pretty much the worst turn possible.

Q: What if I go through a corner and I'm going faster than the speed limit, but after going through that speed check zone, I crash into the side of the track... what happens? Would I take dent cards based on how much faster I was going than the speed check, and then take another dent card because I crashed?
A: You would get one dent for each point you were going faster than the speed limit at the moment you crossed that red line. You would also get a dent for slamming into the wall. It doesn't matter if the crash prevents you from using your total speed. The fact is, you were travelling that speed when you crossed the red line!

Q: If I crash during my move do I still travel the maximum distance allowable, or immediately stop as soon as I draw the 5th dent, even though I have spaces remaining to move?
A: You move your entire distance, even if you get your fifth dent before your movement is finished. It's only at the end of your turn that the fragments of your sled fly apart and your dogs go chasing rabbits.

BONUS MOVEMENT

Q: Is the bonus based on your position at the start of your turn, or your position at the start of the current round?
A: The start of your turn determines the bonus, NOT the round. It's calculated when it's your turn, therefore it has to be based on your turn.

Q: Can you take consecutive bonus movements - say if you play the same card again or just change the brake?
A: Yes. You could do that. But the bonus is equal to your position. So it is possible you won't get as large a bonus if you moved up in the race due to the last bonus. On the other hand, if you are really far behind, this allows you to catch up quite a bit.

Q: If the turn that moved you past the finish line was balanced, can you still add the bonus movement?
A: Yes.

Q: If another sled would prevent you from using all of your bonus, can you still crash into the back of it and not use your full bonus?
A: The "all or nothing" is so that you cannot cheat by speed restrictions. For example, you can't say "I am in third and entitled to 3 bonus spaces but I only want to take 1 extra". However, a sled in your way stops you in your tracks, just like the edge of the course stops you.

Q: If your sled is balanced and you qualify for a bonus, do you have to add the bonus in calculating the speed if you are not going to take the bonus?
A: The bonus is optional. If you take it, you take it all, and add it to your sled speed to find your new speed. If you don't take it, it isn't used. It's all or nothing. But in some situations you can take the bonus even if you cannot use it all. I.e. if you crash into the back of another sled or into a wall.

FINISHING

Q: We were coming to the end of a 4 player game, and the first two players had finished for 1st and 2nd place. As the other two were in a close battle for third place we played on an extra turn. One of the players managed to get a balanced sled as they crossed the line. My question is, 'what bonus movement does he get? Is it three, because he was in third place, or one, because he was in first place out of those still on the course?
A: The player's position was still third, even though other players had finished, so their bonus should have been three spaces.

Q: Does the track end at the end of the course, or can you finish beyond the final space?
A: Use a spare straight, or an earlier straight to extend the course beyond the finish line as far as is necessary.

Q: Should a sled be removed from the track after the end of the round in which it crosses the finish line, or should it stay there and block remaining players?
A: Finishing sleds are removed at the end of the round they crossed the line. So they can block sleds crossing in the same round.

[What Links Here]
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.