The Hotness
Games|People|Company
Artifact
Push Me Pull You
Scythe: Digital Edition
Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft
Mystic Vale
City of Heroes
Star Trek: The Next Generation – Birth of the Federation
Minecraft
Defense of the Ancients
Final Fantasy VII Remake
Stellaris
Super NES Classic
Unravel Cyndy
Mass Effect 2
Fallout 3
Castlevania: Symphony of the Night
Scribblenauts
Professor Layton and the Curious Village
Planescape: Torment
Baldur's Gate
Titan Quest
Castlevania: Portrait of Ruin
Speedball 2: Brutal Deluxe
CivCity: Rome
Spelunky
Machinarium
Castlevania: Dracula X
Limbo
SimCity (1989)
Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia
Final Fight
Crusader Kings
Geneforge 2
The Operational Art of War III
Too Human
Pokémon Ruby and Sapphire
Autoduel
DiRT 2
Civilization V
Deus Ex: Human Revolution
realMyst
The King of Dragons
Angry Birds Rio
Avadon: The Black Fortress
Mass Effect 3
Journey (2012)
Arcana Heart 3
Dragon Age: Inquisition
The Last of Us
Endless Space
Search: Titles Only:
Article Edit | History | Editors

Wir sind das Volk FAQ

FAQ for Wir sind das Volk!

Info taken from FAQs in file area and various forum threads, consolidated into a Wiki page so that people can more easily find all the info in one place and update it.
List of game FAQs

Official Rules PDF

Rules (Spielregel) in several languages can be downloaded from the official website:
http://www.histogame.de/wir.sind.das.volk.html
These are the current (version 2.0) rules.

Changes in rules version 2.0

The rules were updated in January 2016 as follows:

  • East starts with only 1 socialist in the Holding Box (instead of 2).
  • West has only 2 starting unrest cubes in the 3 supplier provinces (Baden-Württemberg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Rheinland-Pfalz)
  • East's use of the special card is now different: When East chooses the special card, it has to either discard a hand card, or let West pick the top card from the draw deck as an additional hand card.
  • The new special card rule makes a minor modification for refilling a player's hand at the start of a decade necessary: Players fill their hand up to 2 cards. Beginning with decade II, players may choose to discard any cards still held from earlier decades before re-filling. Note that a player must discard at least 1 card when holding 3 cards.

Markers are unlimited (except socialists)

Improvise more markers as needed: no markers are limited to the physical mix, except socialists.
https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1310585/not-enough-mass-protest-markers

Card values

If a card has a single black value, then it simply means that this is the same value for both players.

3 Playing the Game

In decade IV, remember to put the correct side of special card IV face up, depending on whether the wall was built or not!

5.3 Rundown factories

Only East factories may become rundown. Note that the 4 external factories (10.5) are not "East factories" (since "East" means East Germany (GDR) by rule 1); thus the 4 external factories cannot be rundown.

6 Actions

You can use any normal card, regardless of color, to remove 1 unrest marker or build up your economy or increase your living standard. The only restriction is that if the card is not your own color (i.e. if it is your opponent's or a dual card), then to remove 1 unrest marker you must dismantle 1 build point. Color does not matter for the economy and living standard actions.

6.3 Increase your living standard

Unlike building in 6.2, you may place LS in a province with protest. You can always place LS in up to 3 provinces: the card's value does not affect that. The card's value only determines how many "temporary" economy points you can add to a province to make it qualified to receive its new LS.

6.4 Non-executable arrows

The wording for West is misleading; the icons on the board are correct. The rule text should say:

Similarly, for each non-executable yellow arrow, West places 1 unrest counter in an East province. In case of a non-executable prestige arrow, West may opt to remove 1 yellow unrest counter instead.

https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1351507/errata-non-executable-arrows

6.4 Coat of arms

The rulebook does not illustrate the coat of arms for each country. The black eagle is West; the red circle with hammer and compass (similar to Police emblem) is East.

Put 1 LS

This lets you put 1 LS in any province (ignoring whether or not its current economy could support a new LS). If an event has 2 such icons, you may put both LS into the same province or in 2 different provinces.

Stop

This action icon appears only in later decades and only affects the external Czech and Polish factories (which themselves can only appear in the first decade). So automagically the removed factory will be permanently removed (never able to be rebuilt) without players needing to remember or track anything. (Well, OK, theoretically East could retain a decade 1 card for building external factories and play it in a later decade after Stop... in that case, the "permanently" removed factor could indeed be rebuilt.)

https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1276121/stop-factory

Police

Only if the police icon is executed does East collect the card. Otherwise the card goes near the flight track as usual.

Guillaume-Affair

Of course in the second half decade, there is no point in using this action to remove a card from the deck.

7 Socialists

When protests occur, immediately move only as many socialists from the box to provinces with protests as needed to remove the protests. Any excess socialists remain in the box.

8 Police Power

East collects a Police card only if that police icon was executed, i.e. if the card was executed for its event and its police icon was executed. (Recall that one icon from a dual card can be skipped when executing a dual card's event.)

East retains all collected police cards for the rest of the game (unlike cards placed near the flight track, which go away after each decade).

East can use each collected Police card without an unrest marker to remove one unrest marker from the map during any of their actions and put the unrest marker onto the Police card. East can do this immediately when East collects the Police card during East's action, or during a later East action, or in the end of the decade (9.8). In any case, each card can remove only one unrest marker during the decade. (This is why you put the marker onto the card.)

Red police hurt East in 9.1, and all police (red and pink) hurt East in 9.4.

9 End of decade

Note that East can lose by national insolvency only during the End of decade, not during normal card actions.

9.1 Flight from the Republic

After completing this phase, you discard the executed cards at the bottom edge of the map. But East's collected police cards will not be discarded during the end of decade procedure; they are held for the rest of the game.

9.3 Western currency & export factories

The rules say "Every province has 1 export factory." This is not strictly true: a province with no factories has no export factory (so e.g. it cannot generate currency for East in 9.3, even if West has a province with no factories - only eastern provinces with factories would generate currency in that case).

https://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/18190087#18190087

If East must run down factories and must then dismantle infrastructures (and the Rheinsberg factory), but does not have enough infrastructures to dismantle, then they lose due to National Insolvency. (None of their factories can be dismantled now, because rundown factories (other than Rheinsberg) cannot be dismantled (5.3).)

9.5 Hold your living standard

The rules say "The number of LS in a province may not exceed the value of its export factory." What if a province has no export factory? (Cf. 9.3 above.) Presumably the province is considered to have an export factory of 0 for this purpose, i.e. it must remove all its LS...?
https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/2116771/hold-your-living-standard-no-factories

9.7 East West comparison

Unfortunately it is left undefined in what order players declare their attack targets. Richard says that in practice he thinks it does not matter.

https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1242631/east-west-comparison-97

10 Special cities

East Berlin

East Berlin is simply an ordinary province (wholly contained within the province Brandenburg). If a factory is built in it, place the factory on the black city in the main map. That factory is not in the province Brandenburg, but in the province East Berlin. For convenience (to avoid mixing markers with Brandenburg), other markers (LS, unrest, protests) are placed in the separate East Berlin area.
https://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/18233240#18233240

10.1 West Berlin

West Berlin and East Berlin are adjacent provinces (and are both adjacent to the surrounding province Brandenburg).

Both West Berlin and East Berlin can have unrest markers and mass protest markers as usual.

But West Berlin is special since it cannot have a factory. It also has 3 sectors (unlike all other provinces). Its export factory (e.g. for 9.3 and 9.5) is considered to be the worst of the export factories of its supply provinces which have actually transferred LS to West Berlin.

An LS is assigned to a specific sector in West Berlin, and a sector can have at most 1 LS more than each other sector. (That restriction is true regardless how the LS get there: by a normal transfer from supplier province or by a card event.) But the total number of LS in Berlin is compared to its worst supplying factory in 9.5, among the suppliers of sectors with LS.

In 9.6 (Internal comparison), West Berlin gains unrest equal to the difference between its LS and West's highest LS (instead of the usual difference-1 as for all other provinces).

10.3 Rheinsberg

Its card gives 2 build points which must be spent to build this special 2-point factory in Brandenburg. Since they are build points, the factory cannot be built if the province has mass protest.

https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1351270/first-german-nuclear-plant-east-card-27

The Rheinsberg factory is special since it has no infrastructure connections, and it (uniquely) can be dismantled to become rundown, and when already rundown, it (uniquely) can be dismantled to be removed.

[What Links Here]
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.